Interview with Chino and Brad

‘Chino’ Goldwin and Brad Power took some time off their busy training schedule to spend some time with us chatting about how things have gone so far this season. Both players are having very good seasons so far and have caught the eye of local sports media outlets due to their performances on the field. They are two parts of the greater whole which together makes Gibraltar United and we were eager to see what they had to say. Both were in last year’s squad with Chino an integral part of the Championship winning side. Brad finished his studies in the UK last year but was able to score a couple of goals for the club in the times he was able to play while on holiday.

We asked them first of all if re-signing for the club in the summer was an easy decision to make; they both answered emphatically:

Chino: Yes it was an easy decision to make as we had won the second division league and I felt that with a few additions we could compete with at least the bottom half of the premier league and stay up and then build up from there.

Brad: Signing on this season was an easy decision for me. I wanted to test myself in the premier division and the project and philosophy this club have in place is one which I believe in. At the start of the season we had a good group of players who wanted to prove a lot of the doubters wrong, something we have successfully been doing so far. The challenge in itself was one I was looking forward to.

Both agreed that securing the services of Manolo ‘El Chupete’ Nuñez was the perfect foil to attract and quality players  and keep the majority of the squad together.

Chino: Obviously when I heard that the club had acquired the services of arguably the best coach in local football I was very excited but at the same time a bit nervous as I didn’t know what to expect in terms of whether I was going to be good enough or not. However saying that he has been an influential figure in my development and growth as a goalkeeper and as a team we have improved immensely. Personally I have never had a manager who has been able to teach me the essentials of goalkeeping (apart from Christian Wink in FUTSAL…which was excellent) and for that I am very thankful.

Gib Utd Vs Britannia 27 Sep 15-2

Brad, on the other hand, faced a stern test when faced with his new manager as Manolo had spotted some hidden potential in him. Nominally a striker, Brad has been reconverted into a center back by Manolo. Here is what he had to say about it:

Brad: At first I was not completely on board with the idea of playing at the back. The manager saw potential in me to play there and ever since the first friendly in pre season I feel I have improved game by game. The fact I played as a striker has helped me in terms of how I disliked being defended against, it’s the small things like that which I believe have helped me adapt so quickly to my new role. I feel I have gone from strength to strength with each game I have played. Manolo has believed in me and training with one of the best if not the best manager in the Premier Division has only benefited me. My confidence has grown with each performance and all the positive reviews I have received from team mates and others has only motivated me further to keep on improving. I still have a lot to learn and I know that game by game I will continue to do so. Scoring my first goal of the season was another massive boost to my confidence and I hope to add a few more before the end of the season.

14-01-2016 20-30-16

Both players were eager to express their excitement and desire to test themselves against the best of local football in the Premier Division. They both knew it wasn’t going to be easy but it certainly it was going to help their growth as footballers.

Brad: As a team we knew that this season would be a real test for us. The manager set us targets for each round and we know that we must approach each game differently. We had plenty of doubters at the start of the season and I believe this has worked in our favour, we have played with no pressure and caused numerous upsets already and I’m sure we are capable of a few more. Nobody expected us to have our point tally so far, we will take it game by game and hopefully look up the table instead of below us. Personally testing myself against the best local and foreign players is a challenge I have relished and one in which I feel I have shown my ability at this level.

Chino: Playing in the Premier so far has been a great experience and is a huge difference to the second division because of the quality some of the teams have. Once you get the taste for it you don’t want anything different. You have to be on your toes every second of the game any slight lapse in concentration can effect your team and I’m enjoying every minute of it. The work ethic needed to compete in the Premier Division is something that I thrive off! There have been many ups and downs this season but all in all I think we have exceeded everyone’s expectations, as many people thought that it was impossible to compete with a squad full of local players.

As a final thought we asked them about their hopes and aspirations for the future:

Chino: As any football player would say the ultimate reward would be to represent your country at international level but at the moment my target is to do the best I can for my club and team mates and obviously stay in the Premier Division simply because you want to play with and against the best.

Brad: Right now I’m not looking too far ahead, my focus is to stay in the starting 11 and play week in week out in the Premier Division. If I continue to improve it’s obvious that any local player’s aim is to get into the national side, to test yourself against some of the worlds best is every player’s dream. For now I will take it game by game and hopefully the opportunity arises in the future.

12307476_957111837692356_8667981579357164175_o Gib Utd Vs Europa Point 3 Oct 15-164

Our thanks to Chino and Brad. They will be back in action this coming Sunday at 16:30 versus Lynx F.C.

Leave a Reply

